How Rich are You?

Again I will respond to a post made by Connor Boyack.

First, the site seems incomplete.  If I enter any income over $200,001 (including $99,999,999,999,999,999,999,999 = 9.99 x 10^22), it always says that I’m the 107,565th richest person in the world.  Of course, I don’t really earn $200,001, but…

Second, Connor cites Andrew Carnegie, who said, “This, then, is held to be the duty of the man of wealth: First, to set an example of modesty, unostentatious living, shunning display or extravagance….”  Connor, please post a link to the source of this quote for two reasons.  First, quoting without citing is a terrible practice at best, plagerism at worst.  Second, I am interested in this quote, and I would like to read more from the same work.  Where can I find it?

FYI, with a Google search, I found the above quote comes from: Andrew Carnegie, The Gospel of Wealth (Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard, (1900) 1962), 25.  The paper can be found online or purchased online.

One comment on “How Rich are You?

  1. Connor says:

    First, the site seems incomplete.

    I never made any statement as to the statistical significance and accuracy of the site’s calculation. 🙂

    …I am interested in this quote, and I would like to read more from the same work. Where can I find it?

    Why, on Quoty, of course! 🙂

Leave a Reply

